24 June 2011

Devoted Followers:

Just wanted to give you all a quick rundown of my plans for the weekend so you can have something to look forward to in my posts and Skype conversations.  I’m currently on my lunch break at work and am taking a break from writing my first actual article for the online magazine!  It’s (intermittently) sunny, it’s Friday, and I’ve got quite a few things to get excited about over the coming weekend.  Here’s a rough approximation of how my weekend’s going to turn out:

FRIDAY

I think I’ll head over to Rustique for a cuppa tea and some reading time to myself right after work.  I haven’t really read much since I arrived here (too many other fun things to do) and I think my Kindle is having abandonment issues.  Tonight, I’ve been invited to return to Bar Rumba with a friend who “won” free cover and drinks for herself by signing up to receive emails last weekend.  Might be worth it just to make an appearance.  🙂

SATURDAY

I’m filling up my weekends pretty rapidly, but I’d love to make time to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace tomorrow morning.  I’ve seen the Palace, but this event is supposed to be really something.  Afterwards, I might go to Notting Hill for the weekly Portobello Market (they have more than just mushrooms, I’m told).  Saturday night is our boat cruise on the River Thames.  Formal attire is required and we’ll have dinner and dancing on board.  I can’t wait!

SUNDAY

There’s a real possibility I’ll go to Spitalfield Market with some of the other people in the program on Sunday, but if I don’t I’ve pretty much got the day to myself.  I’d love to take a bike tour of the city, but unless I can make arrangements in pretty short order it won’t have a chance of happening this weekend, unfortunately.  Either way, I’ve got my Wish List to fall back on for ideas!

 

As always, I’m taking suggestions for things to do, challenges to try (want me to catcall at the Buckingham Palace guards?), or landmarks to photograph!  Comment below!

4 thoughts on “24 June 2011

  1. I think you should add a few items to your Wish List. Rumor has it that Spitafield Market is loosing favor to several new local attractions: Pissapasture Square and Shitameadow Bazaar are highly rated in my latest edition of Places to Visit Whilst Across the Pond. Hurlanacre Strip Mall, I am told, is no longer recommended.

Leave a comment