…Then Why is My Conscience So Clean?

Tonight I went out to a pub with four of the other girls in the program: Andrea, Hannah, Alex and Kaitlyn.  It’s called Filthy MacNasty’s, but there’s nothing remotely filthy or nasty about it.  The atmosphere, service and quality of food was all top-notch and squeaky clean.  I couldn’t make up my mind about what ale I should order, so the kindly barkeep (who was truly chuffed about the fact that a bunch of American girls were soon to be frequenting his pub) brought me out a generous sample of each.  He then teasingly watched me sip each varietal (“Experience it – like a fine French wine!”) and applauded my choice when I finally settled on “the lightest of the lot.”  You girls can have your berry cider, I’ll have my ale in a heavy glass with a handle, thanks!

The chips (or “fries”) we got for starters were piping hot and delicious, but my entrée (a British favourite) was especially scrumptious: pie and mash.  Have a looksie:

We were able to get a 50% discount with our Taste Cards (a tip o’ the cap to Dream Careers for that little perk) and many laughs were had.  Mom and Dad, I can’t wait to take you here for the great atmosphere, tasty ales and huge selection of whiskeys from around the world!  And it’s a VERY short walk from where I live!

Fun fact:  I’d walked past this pub while wandering aimlessly on my first night here.  I’ve wanted to go ever since; I’m now certain I’ll be a regular fixture there over the coming weeks.  That said, I think I might add it to my Wish List and cross if off just for the hell of it.  Is that cheating?  I DON’T CARE.

4 thoughts on “…Then Why is My Conscience So Clean?

  1. We so enjoy your comments and pictures. Love hearing about you adventures. You’re doing a good job keeping us informed. Keep it coming:)
    We love you and are so happy for you. Grandma & Grandpa Foster

    • Thanks so much, Grandma and Grandpa. I’ve realized how much support I have back home and it makes me all the more eager to share – and to see you all when I get back! I just wish I could have packed you all in my suitcase and brought you along. That’s why I’m so glad to have the journal Sarah gave me. 🙂

      I actually just read a note from you and Grandpa this morning. It made me smile so huge! (Especially when I saw the quote by Winston Churchill at the bottom – my first thought was that my little note was from ol’ Winston himself because I didn’t see your names at first! It made me laugh!)

  2. Challenge: If you wish to accept it: I want some pie and mash! Find a great recipe for such dish and bring it home. You can come down to Indy and teach me how to cook it. Greg would be forever grateful. Love you.

Leave a comment